Pumpkin-Lentil Soup

2 08 2010

I layered the following in my crock pot: generous sprinklings of basil and oregano, one large bay leaf, 1 cup of dried red lentils, & 2 shallots I had diced and sauteed in olive oil. I then poured 2 cans of chicken stock & 2 cups of water over the whole mess and set the crock to high. As soon as the lentils break down I will switch the temp to low, add a can of pumpkin, mix well and let it cook the rest of the afternoon. To be served for dinner with a green salad and bread sticks.

Spouse’s brother came over this weekend to help Spouse do some vehicle repairs. As a kind of thank you I ordered Olive Garden Saturday evening. We had loads of salad & bread sticks leftover, so this recipe is making use of those.

BTW, I had the Seafood Brodetto and I recommend it. I found a recipe for it online and plan on making it and a french fish chowder for myself this winter.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

