Pirate’s Chocolate Cake

20 01 2011

Spouse & I decided recently to try going gluten free. However, we gave ourselves 2 weeks time to rid the house of any gluten-laden products and have a junk food blow-out. Because with the gluten-free comes us also eating healthier in general. So, in an attempt to purge some of the 1/3 bag of flour from the house, I decided to do a little baking today. Why not? School has been cancelled due to the almost foot of snow on the ground outside and Spouse took my car to work. I have this great 1Egg Cake recipe that I have used for years, a bar & a half of Ghirardelli 100% Cacao and some Blackheart Spiced Rum. SCORE!

The following is the recipe I used….I am sure you are completely shocked that I actually followed a recipe, but I have found baking to be more hard science than other cooking and I have not quite mastered the skill of creating my own baked goods from the top of my head yet.

1/4 C butter (normally I would use butter here, but since I had none I used Smart Balance Omega 3 spread instead)

2/3 C Sugar

1 Egg

1 Teaspoon Vanilla (here I deviated and used half a bar of melted chocolate, a generous sprinkling of cinnamon and about 2 tbl of rum that I had heated to burn the alcohol off

1 1/2 Cups Flour

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

2 Teaspoons Baking Powder

1/2 Cup Milk
Cream butter and sugar. Add unbeaten egg. Add flavoring. Beat thoroughly. Sift flour, measure,and sift with salt and baking powder. Add alternatively with milk to creamed shortening and sugar. Pour into well-oiled loaf pan (I used a cake pan). Bake in moderate oven (375 F.) 35 minutes.

I am still in the mixing process right now, but I will make a NeejaEdit later to let ya know how it turned out.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

