Last night/this morning, after watching that wonderful Swedish film I decided to check out S. Darko: A Donnie Darko Tale. I loved Donnie Darko. Adored it. More than I adore lip balm, and I have a serious lip balm fetish. SO…I wasn’t expecting super greatness from S. Darko, but I also wasn’t expecting the director to come shit all over my face and smear his butt on my floor for almost 2 hours either. What a supreme pile of crapballs that film – I don’t even think it should be allowed to be called such – is. It was probably one of the single worst films I have seen, including The Blair Witch. The ONLY reason I finished watching it is due to my sometimes eternally optimistic nature. I really kept thinking it would get better, and sometimes I am right about such things. Pandorum is a case in point. I was groaning about it when I was 30 minutes in because I thought it would be some kind of zombies in space kind of slasher flick, but it turned out much better than I first thought. So I sat there, waiting for S. Darko to stumble blindly – being led by a drunken, hearing and vision-impaired dwarf – through the tall, TALL and very dark forest of it’s plot into the land of Making Sense and Tying Up All Loose Ends. I would have been happy to see it sluggishly meander it’s way into Having a Point, but sadly it did no such thing. Someone gave the creators a lot of money to circle jerk their random subconscious thoughts onto recordable media. No one pays me to spew my brain vomit all over the internet. I demand recompense! Thankfully I didn’t pay money to see that poppycock, it was available via Netflix instant watch. And before you say one word about how I should have known it would reek worse than 500 year old tofu, I also watched the truly awesome Swedish film that way too.

In other news, the dinner I mentioned earlier smells utterly fantastic. I think I am going to name it Dump Steak Surprise. About 30 min ago I turned it down to low and added two half bags of frozen, mixed veg that I found forgotten in the freezer* to the mix. It should go really well served over brown rice. I have been cooking this way lately. If I have already said this in a recent post, tough shit. I am saying it again. I have been just throwing things together and seeing how they work. Refried beans mixed with salsa then smeared on garlic naan, topped with shredded mexican blend cheese and baked like pizza is fucking amazing. Black turtle beans and brown rice cooked in the crock pot with chicken broth, cumin, cinnamon, onions, garlic, a handful of crumbled bacon and bay leaves with a touch of agave is absolutely delicious. Tortillas spread with chevre, topped with thinly sliced and rare roast beef then rolled up like a burrito is exquisite. That’s just a few of the creations I have tossed together the past few days. I have managed, with the use of additional ingredients, to make a rotisserie chicken last for three different meals. I do have to say, however, that tilapia fish poached in V8 is a bit of a phail…but that was for my consumption and wasn’t inflicted upon the innocent palates of my family.

*I am always thrilled beyond belief when I inadvertently use alliteration in my rambles, heh.

Leave a comment